Did you know that more foods are made with wheat than any other grain? A staple in the Western diet, wheat is the favored ingredient for most bread, pasta, cereals, crackers, cookies, and more. But, wheat contains the protein gluten, which many individuals now try to avoid due to food sensitivities and the growing number of people with Celiac Disease. The good news is there’s actually a wide variety of ancient whole grains that can be used as wheat substitutes. There are several grains that are naturally gluten-free that can be used for gluten-free bread, baking, cereal and more!
Experts often stress the importance of a balanced diet with a wide variety of foods from each food group. We love a diverse diet with different flavors, textures, and colors on our plate. Whether you have a gluten-intolerance or are looking to add more variety to your diet, here are six gluten-free grains you can try that are delicious, versatile, and fit for a gluten-free diet.